In The Blood by R.L. Martinez

Every so often you come across a book that reminds you why you love a genre.’ Goodreads reviewer

This book is amazing.’ Netgalley reviewer

‘I feel this is a very enjoyable book that holds your interest and intrigue throughout and would highly recommend it.‘ The Bandwagon

‘This combination gives readers a suspenseful story of sisterly love, like none other.’ Boundless Book Reviews

I have had the privilege of reading a lot of great fantasy & this one is right up there with Throne of Glass and The Queen of Tearling.’ A Comfy Chair in the Corner

Perfect for fans of Juliet Marrillier, this book is magical and spellbinding. A very quick and immensely enjoyable read. I can’t wait to read the second installment.‘ Book Haunt

I thoroughly recommend ‘In the Blood’ to anyone who enjoys light-hearted fantasy and award it a richly-deserved five stars.’ Whispering Stories


 

The Witchbreed Series, Book 1 (Book 2: Beneath the Skin)

e-book ISBN 978-0-9944511-0-1   RRP AUD $4.99

paperback ISBN 978-0-9944511-1-8   RRP AUD $23.99

Adult Fantasy

Goodreads

Author Website

Purchase Links:

Amazon.com.au    Amazon.com    Amazon.co.uk     Barnes & Noble


BLURB

A snake. A lion. A return.

In a time when magic is feared, Lady Oriabel Dominax has no choice but to conceal her healing powers while she cares for her father’s struggling estate. One touch of the Witch’s Tree shows her visions of witches hung and burned at the very hands of the people for whom she cares, the people who love her. But with the arrival of a new lord, a man hiding secrets of his own, falling in love might be one wrong move too many.

Incarcerated for an unspeakable crime, fearless warrior Lady Ottilde Dominax is plagued by mysterious dreams of her sister’s death. When a hooded figure offers her the chance of escape, although untrusting, she does not hesitate. Racing across nations to reach Oriabel, her journey is cut short by an encounter with a wedowyn, a formidable beast which she has no chance to overpower alone. Though it is not death that greets her, but something far worse.

Blackmail, betrayal, and murder are only the beginning as a darker magic is awakened. And someone has plans for the Dominax twins, plans more terrifying than anything they could ever imagine.

 


 

Meet the Characters

Ottilde Dominax

“I suggest you keep your filthy hands to yourself.” Ottilde Dominax

Ottilde First PortraitKnight. Warrior. Sister. Fugitive. Ottilde Dominax has trained for war nearly all her life. The eldest daughter (by less than a minute) of the deceased Lord and Lady of Corlaan, Ottilde was sent away from home at the age of six, to begin her decade-long preparation to be a knight for her country. But her heart remained with her twin sister, Oriabel, even as she fell in love with her country’s crowned prince, Chroy. A bloody war took Ottilde from her sister and set her against her prince.

Throughout her journey to reunite with Oriabel, Ottilde faces bloodthirsty predators, untrustworthy allies, and an infuriating prison chief with a dark past of his own.

Raised primarily among warriors, Ottilde is sarcastic, tough, and pragmatic. She abandoned her ideals long ago in the face of court politics and blood-soaked battle fields. She does not trust easily and hides her fear and pain behind biting humor and bravado. She is a bit of a loner, finding the company of others, especially since Chroy’s death, more trouble than it’s worth.

Oriabel stands as the one inviolate force in her life, a symbol of home and peace, and Ottilde puts her love for her twin above all else. Since they grew up with no mother and their father died when they were just ten-years-old, they have fulfilled the roles of both mother and father for each other, with Ottilde taking on the protector role. She sees any threat to her sister as a threat to herself.

A powerful woman, commanding respect and attention.

 

Oriabel Dominax

“I’d rather give too much than not enough.” Oriabel Dominax

Oriabel 1Lady. Healer. Sister. Witch. Oriabel Dominax has always known fear. Her father, in an attempt to protect her, never hid what would happen to her if the people of Corlaan discovered her witchbreed nature. Condemned by the holy scriptures of the Odalay, Roanaan’s god, witches are seen as the harbingers of evil and destruction in Roanaan. And so, Oriabel guards her secret while using it to care for the very people who would destroy her.

Before his death, Barres Dominax gave his daughter a most unusual education. Oriabel learned anatomy and herb lore alongside fairy tales and politics. From the village’s late midwife, she absorbed the lessons of midwifery and nursing. And from the old witch who lives deep in the woods around Corlaan, she discovered how to nurture and strengthen her supernatural gifts.

A deeply religious and spiritual woman, Oriabel does not allow what the Odalay’s holy scriptures say about the witchbreed to stop her from daily devotions and prayers. She believes the Odalay gave her magic to protect and comfort her people. She also believes the god will bring Ottilde back to her one day.

Oriabel is more idealistic than her sister, raised as she was in an insular community. But her father’s early lessons of caution and fear have left her with a deep distrust of letting anyone too close. Nevertheless, she loves easily and gives affection to those who show her kindness. Her devotion to her home and people informs everything she does—even to her ruin.

One trait she shares with Ottilde is an intolerance for those she sees as enemies. The few people she detests get nothing from her but contempt.

 

Wilder Coomb

“The devil’s help always comes with the devil’s price.” – Wilder Coomb

wilder-coomb-portraitSoldier. Hunter. Leader. Wilder Coomb practices strict self-discipline in all areas of his life. A wounded veteran of Iormere’s military, he now oversees a prison camp in the far north. Over the years, Lachlas Prison has housed Iormere traitors, deserters, even high-ranking political prisoners. But during the Pleinour War, it offers its dubious welcome to Roanaan prisoners-of- war.
Chief Coomb despises the Roanaan people, believing them capable of any imaginable barbarity. Indeed, it was Roanaan soldiers who caused him to lose one of his eyes. But even before that, a trio of Roanaan deserters gave Coomb every reason to hate Roanaan and its people. As the prison chief of Lachlas, he offers no mercy to the prisoners in his charge.
Chief Coomb is a devotee of the Three Celestial Sisters, the three goddess who rule sky, earth, and the underworld. Worship of the Celestial Sisters is one of two main religions practiced in Iormere, the other being worship of the Odalay. Chief Coomb prays each morning and each evening, uses meditation to calm and regulate his thoughts, and adheres to a fatalistic philosophy.
Hard, ruthless, and demanding, Wilder Coomb does not tolerate nonsense, disobedience, or dishonesty.